7 Comments
author

Thoughts as you set out this first day...? Does your desk EVER look like this? Mine, never.

Do you have, or need, your own space where you can leave your work untouched by no one other than you, day to day?

Expand full comment

I did actually use NaNoWriMo in 2019 to get started on a book, and reached the 50,000 word goal, but that was because it was perfect timing, I had finished most of the major research for it. And 50,000 words was less than half of the completed novel. This year, because I am already 60,000 words into a novel, I am going to use this month to complete the first draft, which I am hoping is no more than 30,000 more words. What is most important for me is the reminder not to do my usual approach of editing the previous day's work every morning, but leaving all that editing until the draft is done. As for where I write, on my laptop, in an easy chair in my living room. Nowadays, most of my research is online, so is stored in Scrivener, a click away on laptop.

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by Alison Acheson

I have my laptop on a messy desk in my bedroom. I frequently have the urge to tidy it, but never do. I tried NaNoWriMo for the first time in 2020 -- I had just turned 59, and the pandemic was still curtailing gatherings and activities, so what better time to try and realize my goal of writing a novel? I've never succeeded in writing 50,000 words in one month, but in my first year, I kept going after November 30th until I had written over 50,000 words, which is more than I had ever accomplished without the exterior challenge that NaNoWriMo provides.

My goal this year (I've signed up in hopes of completing my first rough draft of the same project in 2021 and again this year) was to write every day, although it has been an extremely busy month, with two weekend trips, kids coming home over Thanksgiving weekend with three days in a row of family celebrations. (I missed one day while we were away, which broke my streak, but I kept going anyway.)

I'm part of a NaNoWriMo regional support group, and do timed writing sprints using Discord, which helps me get some words in every morning.

Like Mary Louisa Locke, who already commented, I'm trying hard not to edit as I write. (Very difficult!) So far this month, I'm at 12,406 words, about which the NaNoWriMo site helpfully reports: "At this rate you'll be done on February 13, 2023!"

Expand full comment