8 Comments
Jul 21, 2021Liked by Alison Acheson

I have just begun those clumsy first stumbles towards the writing of my eight novel. Thin On The Ground is a project I've been thinking about for over twenty years and while it'll be framed as a mystery thriller, it's really an attempt to directly address the complete and utter lack of respect for human life I all-too-often encountered while living in East Side Vancouver during the nineties, I time I have come to call - for obvious reasons - The Pickton Era.

Expand full comment

Lonely it is! A friend of mine describes it as “going into the cave.” It can be difficult to balance the need for solitude with the demands of engagement. It is for me at least. But it’s a dance we scribblers must learn if anyone is to see our work. Thank you for opening a door for discussion of the writer’s ever-present dilemma.

Expand full comment
Jul 22, 2021Liked by Alison Acheson

Astonishingly have sent out a few short stories - how did that happen given my schedule?? Know from experience all will be rejected. In the meantime, a novel I work on every few years is majorly benefitting from Alison's calendar ideas. I am calendarizing the most recent draft and realizing it is all out of kilter.

Expand full comment